Managing hourly projects
Monitoring your freelancer’s tracked time
Hours worked on by your freelancer are tracked and their activities are recorded via random screenshots on the Desktop App. They can also manually add hours not tracked via the Desktop app. You can view the tracked hours and screenshots on the Time Tracking tab of your hourly project.
The Time Tracking tab has two sections: Summary and Tracked Time.
The Summary section shows you the dates included in the current billing cycle, the time tracked by your freelancer within the current billing cycle, and the maximum number of hours they are allowed to track for the week.
The Tracked Time section is where all the time tracked by your freelancer for the duration of the whole project are listed. It is divided into Unbilled Time and Billed Time. The time tracked by your freelancer in the current billing cycle is listed in Unbilled Time. All the hours under Unbilled Time are billed and paid in the following week. Billed Time, on the other hand, lists all the hours tracked from the previous billing cycles and their payment status.
To view the random screenshots taken via the Desktop App, click the drop-down arrow across each tracked time, then click the View Screenshots icon. Tracked hours that do not have the View Screenshots icon are manually tracked ones.
You can also toggle your Tracked Time view between List or Graph. The Graph view plots all the time tracked by your freelancer. You can choose to view the graph by the current week, last 14 days, last 28 days, or year.
Automatic weekly billing
When awarding an hourly project, you are prompted to set up the automatic weekly billing. This allows your freelancer to track hours and enables the automatic creation of Hourly Payment weekly to pay your freelancers’ tracked hours. The project will not be awarded if you skip setting up the automatic billing.
When setting up the automatic billing, you can review the billing details and set the maximum weekly limit that your freelancer can work. You may still edit these details in your project page after award.
You can end and resume the automatic billing anytime if there are changes in your payment method or once the project is completed.
The billing cycle starts every Monday and ends on Sunday. If your automatic billing is enabled, an Hourly Payment is created every Monday in the client's timezone to pay for the time tracked in the previous billing cycle. The Hourly Payment is transferred to the freelancer every Wednesday, 48 hours after it was created.
On the Payments tab of the project page, you can view the invoice for every created Hourly Payment.
Note: The details in the invoice, such as the tracked hours and amount, cannot be edited. The Bill From and Bill To information are updated every time you edit your profile details.